Welcome

A very warm welcome to my first foray into the world of blogging. Anyone who knows me will already be aware of my passion for travel and exploring new destinations. My background is a very happy 18 years in the travel industry.

After graduating in Philosophy, I started my working life in the mountains in Switzerland as a holiday rep for a luxury tour operator. I had applied for the Maldives but had to prove my worth in the mountains first. If you can impress the Swiss, you get the beach was the message reading between the lines. That achieved, I spent the next year and a half working in the Maldives.

After many months of diving, sunshine and living in a hotel I decided it was time to come back to the rain, traffic and working in an office. It must have been a severe case of “island fever”. I joined another luxury tour operator and spent five years climbing the ladder to Long Haul Sales Manager.

I then took a break and joined a fantastic travel agency for five amazing years. Here the emphasis was on quality of service and a very personal approach to looking after people’s most valuable time.

Five years ago I launched Different Planet Travel. It has been an amazing time and I want to say a huge thank you to all my clients for being so lovely to work for but also being so adventurous with their spare time.

As I only work by recommendation from clients, the focus is on a truly personal service.

I promise lots of inspiring photos (all taken by me), detailed descriptions and local insight and not a long list of room types in sight. I hope the posts will help inspire your next trip.